Good Stuff on Writing

Methodist Communicators Workshop

leave a comment »

Rich Yancey: Confession of a Tax Collector.

For most of the past thirteen years, I have used a different name, chosen by me and approved by our government, to perform the task appointed to me by the people of the United States. This name, my professional name, I will not tell you.

I am a foot soldier in the most feared, hated, and maligned agency in the federal government.

I work for the Treasury. I execute Title 26 of the United States Code, for the Internal Revenue Service — or the Service, as we in the trenches call it.

I collect taxes, but don’t call me a tax collector. Nobody wants to be a tax collector. Call me what the Service calls me. Call me a revenue officer.

And hear my confession.

Written by bsmietana

October 21, 2009 at 4:09 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

